CESG professor serves as general chair for premier conference

Recently a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University served as the general chair for a premier conference on the physical design of VLSI circuits and systems.

Jiang Hu, an associate professor in the department, served as the general chair for the 21st ACM International Symposium on Physical Design (ISPD), in Napa, California, March 25-28, 2012.

Physical design has been a fundamental pillar of the VLSI technology for several decades. ISPD is a premier forum dedicated to the promotion of research in the physical design of VLSI circuits and systems.

This year’s ISPD saw significantly increased attendance, including world-class researchers and professionals from both academia and industry over the world. It featured keynote speech by a VP and distinguished fellow of TSMC. It also continued its renowned tradition of organizing a physical design contest, which not only catalyzed new ideas and implementation techniques but also formalized research validation with industrial benchmarks. This year’s ISPD was covered in EETimes, one of the most influential news media on electronics and information technology. More details about the ISPD can be found at “http://ispd.cc“.

Hu received the B.S. degree in optical engineering from Zhejiang University, China, in 1990, the M.S. degree in physics in 1997 and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Minnesota in 2001. He worked with IBM Microelectronics from January 2001 to June 2002.

In 2002 Hu joined the department at Texas A&M in the Computer Engineering and Systems Group. His research interest is in Computer-Aided Design for VLSI circuits, especially on large scale circuit optimization, clock network synthesis, robust design and on-chip communication. Honors include receiving a best paper award at the 2011 International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD) and the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference in 2001, and he received an IBM Invention Achievement Award in 2003. He has served as technical program committee members for DAC, ICCAD, ISPD, ISQED, ICCD, DATE and ISCAS. He is the technical program chair for The ACM International Symposium on Physical Design, 2011. Currently, he is an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on CAD and the ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems.