Agricultural Blue Legacy Award

Congratulations to Dr. Jiang Hu and team for receiving the Agricultural Blue Legacy Award this March.

They developed a center pivot automation and control system known as CPACS. This contributes to water conservation in the field of agriculture. To learn more, go to

The team is referred to as the “Amarillo Water Management Team” and includes:
Dr. Hongxin Kong, CEEN, PhD Graduate
Jianfeng Song, CEEN, PhD Candidate
Dr. Justin Sun, CEEN, PhD Graduate
Dr. Yanxiang Yang, CEEN, PhD Graduate
Dr. Jiang Hu, co-director of graduate programs in the Texas A&M Department of Electrical and omputer Engineering at College Station;
Dr. Gary Marek, U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service agricultural engineer at Bushland;
Thomas Marek, AgriLife Research senior research engineer at Amarillo;
Dr. Dana Porter, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service program leader in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering at Lubbock; and
Dr. Qingwu Xue, AgriLife Research crop stress physiologist at Amarillo.

Thank you Amarillo Water Management Team for improving our world with your projects!




Pic 1: Dr. Hongxin Kong
Pic 2: Dr. Jiang Hu & Dr. Yanxiang Yang
Pic 3: Dr. Hongxin Kong
Feature Pic: Yanxiang Yang, Thomas Marek & Justin Sun