Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CESG Teleseminar: Inter-operator Opportunistic Spectrum Sharing in LTE-unlicensed

April 7, 2016 @ 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Room 333 Wisenbaker Engr. Building (fishbowl)
Shiwen Mao/Auburn University

Abstract: Extending Long Term Evolution (LTE) to unlicensed bands, termed LTE-unlicensed, is gaining significant interest recently. The coexistence of LTE-unlicensed with the current users on unlicensed bands (such as WiFi), and the interference among LTE-unlicensed users themselves are the two challenges for the success of this new technology. In this talk, we propose a novel distributed online algorithm for opportunistic sharing of unlicensed bands among LTE-unlicensed base stations (BS), while guaranteeing the QoS of user equipments (UE). We first derive a Lyapunov optimization based algorithm for BS’s to evaluate the true value of unlicensed spectrum, guarantee a maximum delay, and minimize the packet drop rate. We then develop a distributed auction mechanism to maximize the social welfare in each auction and enable optimal spectrum reuse. We prove that BS’s bid truthfully with the proposed algorithm, while UEs’ QoS requirements on delay and packet drop rate can be guaranteed with bounded optimality gaps. We also reveal an interesting trade-off between delay and packet drop rate.

Bio: Shiwen Mao received his Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering from Polytechnic University (now Tandon School of Engineering, New York University), Brooklyn, NY in 2004. Currently, he is the Samuel Ginn Distinguished Professor and Director of Wireless Engineering Research and Education Center (WEREC) at Auburn University, Auburn, AL, USA. His research interests include wireless networks and multimedia communications. He is on the Editorial Board of IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, IEEE Internet of Things Journal, IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials, IEEE Multimedia, Elsevier Ad Hoc Networks Journal, Elsevier Digital Communications and Networks Journal, and Wiley International Journal on Communication Systems. He is the Vice Chair – Letters & Member Communications of IEEE ComSoc Multimedia Communications Technical Committee. He received the 2015 IEEE ComSoc TC-CSR Distinguished Service Award, the 2013 IEEE ComSoc MMTC Outstanding Leadership Award, and the NSF CAREER Award in 2010. He is a co-recipient of the IEEE GLOBECOM 2015 Best Paper Award, the IEEE WCNC 2015 Best Paper Award, the IEEE ICC 2013 Best Paper Award, and the 2004 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize in the Field of Communications Systems. He is a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Vehicular Technology Society in the Class of 2014.


April 7, 2016
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm