Dr. JV Rajendran – Intel Security Academic Leadership Award

Dr. JV Rajendran has won the Intel Security Academic Leadership Award at the 2021 USENIX Security Conference in collaboration with Dr. Ahmad Reza Sadeghi’s research team and the Rajendran’s Secure and Trustworthy Hardware Lab members!

Their development of HACK@Event – the largest hardware security competition – helped participants work on real-life, security engineering skills of finding vulnerabilities in SoC designs (system-on-a-chip).

Dr. Rajendran demonstrated excellence, innovation and leadership in advancing the global security research community. He and Dr. Sadeghi showed their commitment to education of security researchers while creating a security-first mindset and work in promoting improvements in hardware design.

To learn more, please watch an interview with Dr. JV Rajendran and Dr. Sadeghi with Intel Business and visit the Texas A&M site here.

Dr. Gratz Promoted to Full Professor

As of September 1, 2021, Dr. Gratz is officially a Full Professor serving in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University.

Some of his accomplishments include his paper “Synchronized Progress in Interconnection Networks (SPIN): A New Theory for Deadlock Freedom” which was selected as a Top Pick from the architecture conferences in 2018 by IEEE Micro. His papers “Path Confidence based Lookahead Prefetching” and “B-Fetch: Branch Prediction Directed Prefetching for Chip-Multiprocessors” were nominated for best papers at MICRO ’16 and MICRO ’14 respectively.  At ASPLOS ’09, Dr. Gratz received a best paper award for “An Evaluation of the TRIPS Computer System.”  In 2016, he received the “Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching – College Level” from the Texas A&M Association of Former Students and in 2017 he received the “Excellence Award in Teaching, 2017” from the Texas A&M College of Engineering.

Congratulations Dr. Gratz for your promotion! And, thank you for all of your hard work and dedication to the accreditation reporting, study abroad program, and our Computer Engineering Systems Group!

Congratulations Dr. Karan Watson!

Dr. Karan Watson, Regents Professor, was awarded the 2021 American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Lifetime Achievement Award in Engineering Education. Dr. Watson was recognized for her pioneering leadership and sustained contributions to education in the fields of engineering and engineering technology.

For the full article or a more in-depth look at her work, please visit: Texas A&M Engineering News and Dr. Watson’s Google Scholar Profile

Past Recipients
2012 Richard M. Felder
2014 James E. Stice
2015 Karl A. Smith
2016 Russ Pimmel
2018 James L. Melsa
2019 K.L. DeVries
2020 Don P. Giddens
2021  Karan L. Watson

CESG Former Student Shiyan Hu Elected to European Academy of Sciences and Arts

CESG former student, Shiyan Hu, who received his Ph.D. in Computer Engineering in 2008, has been elected as a Member for European Academy of Sciences and Arts for his significant contributions to Design, Optimization, and Security of Cyber-Physical Systems.

European Academy of Sciences and Arts currently has about 2,000 members, including 34 Nobel Prize Laureates, who are world leading scientists, artists, and practitioners of governance, with expertise ranging from Natural Sciences, Medicine, Technical & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, to Social Sciences. Academy members, who are dedicated to innovative research, international collaboration as well as the exchange and dissemination of knowledge, are elected based on their outstanding achievements.

Shiyan Hu is a professor and the Chair in Cyber-Physical System Security and Director of Cyber Security Academy at University of Southampton. He has published more than 150 refereed papers in the area of Cyber-Physical Systems, Cyber-Physical System Security, and VLSI Computer Aided Design, where most of his journal articles appeared in IEEE/ACM Transactions. He is an ACM Distinguished Speaker, an IEEE Systems Council Distinguished Lecturer, a recipient of the 2017 IEEE Computer Society TCSC Middle Career Researcher Award, and a recipient of the 2014 U.S. National Science Foundation CAREER Award. His publications have received distinctions such as the 2018 IEEE Systems Journal Best Paper Award, the 2017 Keynote Paper in IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, the Front Cover Paper in IEEE Transactions on Nanobioscience in March 2014, multiple Thomson Reuters ESI Highly Cited Papers/Hot Papers, etc. His ultra-fast slew buffering technique has been widely deployed in the industry for designing over 50 microprocessor and ASIC chips such as IBM flagship chips POWER 7 and 8.

He is a well-recognized international leader in his field. He is chairing the IEEE Technical Committee on Cyber-Physical Systems, leading IET Cyber-Physical Systems: Theory & Applications, and chaired the 2020 Editor-in-Chief Search Committee Chair for ACM TODAES. He has served as an Associate Editor for 5 IEEE/ACM Transactions such as IEEE TCAD, IEEE TII and ACM TCPS and as a Guest Editor for various IEEE/ACM journals such as Proceedings of the IEEE and IEEE Transactions on Computers. He is an Elected Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, a Fellow of IET, and a Fellow of British Computer Society.

Shiyan Hu says: “I am delighted to be elected as a Member of European Academy of Sciences and Arts. It is a unique honor in recognition of my research accomplishments and international leadership in my research fields. After many years following my graduation, I still feel very grateful to the education I received from Texas A&M’s Computer Engineering Group and research experience with my Ph.D. advisor Professor Jiang Hu. These were pivotally helpful for me to contribute significantly to my fields.”

Congratulations to our Summer 2021 Graduates!

 Doctor of Philosophy
Dr. Yixiao Feng (Advisor: Dr. Duffield)
Dr. Ki Yeob Lee (Advisor: Dr. Srinivas Shakkottai)
Dr. Mian Qin (Advisor: Dr. Reddy)
Dr. Ping Wang (Advisor: Dr. Gratz)



Master of Engineering
Xu Luo

Master of Science
Anusha Bharat
Duong Bui
Hsing-Yu Chen
Halit Durukan
Vijay Muguntharaman
Noor-A Nazia
Anushka Waingankar
Ziqian Wang
Ruiwan Xu